Begin…

 

 

 

This isn’t the easiest thing for me to talk about but I think it’s time. I’ve made connections with others like me and that has brought immense comfort especially in the darkest of times. I refuse to be defined by my disorders. Instead they are something I live with and most days they are managed and I’m just fine. Other days they rear their ugly heads but nuts to them! I am a survivor! I am strong! I am capable! Most importantly I have finally started getting real help.

This lady  has inspired me to share more openly, more wholeheartedly my own journey of anxiety by inviting me to write a piece for her blog called “Warrior Wednesdays.”  Her courage is inspiring and her Instagram is full of positive vibes. One I visit on the regular especially if I’m having bad time. Check her out!

So here goes, a first post about my stuff.

I am diagnosed with the follow:

  • Generalized Anxiety Disorder.
  • Panic Disorder.
  • PTSD.
  • Depression.

(I can bullet point that noise. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad haha!)

They are all a direct result of a traumatic childhood spent with an emotionally/mentally abusive parent and the poor life choices this parent made. All of which I had no choice in as a child.

I am now on medication to help ease anxiety as I go through therapy to help me process and deal with the trauma I endured.

I do not play victim. The situation is what is it. As a child I had no choice but as an adult I firmly believe I have the power to change the course of my life. I firmly believe I have the ability to find the peace, happiness and thriving existence I strive for. I FIRMLY believe I can move from a state of surviving to thriving. I believe I have a purpose and I believe through healing I will find it.

I have been in therapy roughly a year and while I have made great progress I still have a long way to go.  I have decided to share some of that journey on a public platform.

I have no idea where this will lead. I’m just a girl sharing her story as it unfolds.

Thanks for listening.

Be well. ❤

Leave a Reply

