No more dairy way more flavor!

coffeewithalmondmilkSo over the weekend I was sort of freaking out about this sudden dietary change. Not because I miss dairy…but rather the emotional comfort, the routine of eating it. The almond milk in my coffee wasn’t bad but it wasn’t what I was used to. So I decided to use some of the half-n-half we had left in the fridge. I felt bad that the animals had suffered and didn’t want it to go to waste. So I put it in my coffee. I took a sip and I nearly spit it out.

It tasted weird and awful. It left a film in my mouth I hadn’t noticed before and it had an after taste I did not remember ever experiencing. It was so off putting that I ended up pouring it down the sink (so much for not wasting!) I just couldn’t drink it. I made a fresh cup with almond milk and it tasted yummy and right.

Which leads to me to tell you about my Chipotle experience.

Every Friday the husband and our do our food shopping and grab Chipotle for dinner (yes we’re like old people!)ย  I was apprehensive on how my usual Friday burrito bowl was going to taste sans dairy. I usually get a lot of cheese and sour cream heaped onto my bowl. Instead of heaping on the dairy, I got an extra heap of salsa!

When I took my first bite I was surprised! I thought it was going to taste bland without dairy slathered over it but I was so wrong! Instead a symphony of flavors exploded in my mouth! Flavors I never noticed before! It tasted better without all the dairy on top!

My experience so far has been that food tastes better. Dairy seemed to mask the flavors of everything. My digestion is also better even after just a week.ย  The husband is going vegetarian this week, his digestion has not been so good haha! Poor guy! Guess I better start putting a little baking soda in those beans. ๐Ÿ˜›

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “No more dairy way more flavor!

  1. I haven’t had dairy in around 15 years. I don’t miss it at all anymore. There are many good alternatives out there now. All the best to you on your journey! (And I hope your husband feels better!)

    • Thank you! It’s been working well for me and so far I’m not missing it. He’s taking steps and eating less meat and dairy as well. He was a hardcore carnivore so I’m pretty proud that he’s eating less animal products, I know it’s not always easy. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I am a vegetarian for ethical reasons. I’ve become vegan for the same reasons. My body is much happier without animal products as well. I don’t have near the digestion issues. Right now I’m having a bit as my body is adjusting to not having dairy but that will pass in time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m good with managing my protein. When I went vegetarian it was initially challenging. So far as a vegan it hasn’t been difficult. I was worried it would be but I think being vegetarian first helped since I already had experience modifying dishes.
      My main protein sources are beans and seitan. I love me some seitan! I also eat a lot veggies, rice and quinoa. I have some kind of veggie or a fully loaded salad with dinner most nights. I have also started trying some vegan protein shakes after my lifting days. I also use some faux meat replacements. I can usually tell if I haven’t had enough protein. I also take vitamins. I notice a HUGE difference if I don’t take my vitamins. I take a multi, Vitamin D (1000mg) and B-12 (2000mg.)
      Hope this helps. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I just looked up a bunch of vegan protein sources yesterday, and I am going to try to expand the ones I use. I eat beans, but still have some trouble digesting them. I can’t eat seitan as I am allergic to wheat. I also have to be careful with soy, as I am a bit allergic to that too. I do use protein powder in my smoothies, and put it in my muffins. I think I just need to be more diligent about having a good variety. My body totally lets me know when I haven’t had enough protein.

        Yeah, vitamins. I don’t take them. I have been think that I need to, especially b-12 since there is very little of that in a vegetarian/vegan diet. Why Vit. D? You don’t think you get enough from the sun? I probably should take it in the winter, as I live in NY state and there is little sun here during this time of year.

      • Experiment and find what works for you. You can also get protein from quinoa and other sources. I found that all that bloating and digestive issues I had personally were from meat and dairy. I’ve had no issues since I quit. ๐Ÿ™‚ Variety with this kind of lifestyle is key!
        I started doing Vitamin D when we moved from Florida to Omaha. Fall is here and winter is fast approaching and there are a lot of cloudy days and even on sunny days it’s too cold to be outside for any length of time.

  2. Yes, in my experience, grains work best for me. I am going to try more quinoa and buckwheat. I am lactose intolerant, and haven’t had dairy in 15 years. I do find I feel lighter without meat. Variety is key, I know, but I tend to forget that sometimes…..

Leave a Reply

