Goodbye October, Hello November!

Before I get into November let’s wrap up the month of October, especially since I haven’t been regular in posting this month.

We had a quiet Halloween. I didn’t dress up and attended no parties. We went out for sushi and I helped a friend pass out candy. We took the dog’s to the grandparent’s so they couldΒ  see them in their cute gear. (My outfit and Lola’s was inspired by Kaylah at The Dainty Squid.)

amberhalloweenlolahalloweenmooshimonsterThis last week of October my husband and I also took some vacation time for some much needed rest. We slept a lot, went to the gym and watched a lot of movies, one of those movies sent me down the vegan path.

vegucatedI highly encourage you to watch this movie, not to turn anyone vegan or vegetarian but to get a little knowledge on the meat and dairy industry.Β  As a vegetarian I already knew the horrors of factory farming but I also learned the “ethical” dairy I was consuming isn’t so ethical after all. Going vegan presents a big challenge since I live in the Midwest and am regularly ostracized (whether intentional or not) for not consuming meat. So this will be an interesting ride.

Lola is getting bigger…well at least longer haha! She’s also getting sassier and smarter. Anyone who says Bassett hounds are not smart obviously has no idea what they are talking about. She has learned how to open the cabinets in the apartment (and the treat closet at grandma’s house!) She had a pretty good time while we were out the other day! *Just a note – she was fine, didn’t hurt herself and we have since locked her out of all cabinets she can open*

lolakitchenShe also has a sass mouth that doesn’t stop. If she doesn’t like something she’ll let you know!

lolasassyShe also turned 3 months this October!

I also did two vision boards one for myself and one for nesting purposes. It was a lot of fun dreaming and doing, though my vision boards are both digital.

I’m glad to welcome a new month! Goodbye October!

Hello November! What’s in store this month?

For starters I’m going to try this recipe.

spaghettisquashI’ve never tried spaghetti squash and I think taking the vegan route this would be a good time to try it! Also looking at this picture makes my mouth water so I figure it must be good!

I found this on my Instagram feed this morning and thought it was a great idea so am implementing it. I’ll let you know what my goals are and how (if) I reached them at the end of the month (because let’s face it sometimes I have commitment/exhaustion issues haha!)

novembergoalsI am also participating in this challenge which I mentioned before.

October is also the month my big black dog passed away. I miss him everyday! It’s not something I will ever get over but I have learned to live with his absence. Every year at this time I reflect on him and his companionship to me and it always brings a happy feeling to my heart and a smile to my face.

bruiser23This month is going to be good I think! Happy November all!

6 thoughts on “Goodbye October, Hello November!

  1. Hello, Amber. I followed you over from AEDM. I too am an HSP and love dogs, yoga, books and Netflix. I also love to say good-bye to the old month and welcome the new. Here’s to a creative November! πŸ™‚ ~Stacie

      1. I haven’t met too many people who know the acronym for Highly Sensitive People. It’s a struggle being an HSP in a loud and fast-moving world. That’s why I am a quasi-hermit. πŸ™‚

      2. Me either! It is a struggle, I’ve learned a lot about taking care of myself and it is a struggle indeed! I have a couple of close people while not HSP’s themselves have learned over the years that my quasi-hermit lifestyle is one of necessity. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

